Can You Answer Some Questions For A Newbie?

DarbySS

Dec 11, 2006
I just bought my first dirtbike, a 2005 Honda CRF250R.

Since It was used, I wanted to do some fluid changes, etc. before my first time out. I changed the oil last night (which was easy), but my questions is the following: How accurate do you need to be with the amount when refilling the motor? The owners manual said .73 quarts, and I think I put in .75. I didnt have a device to measure ounces. Is that going to make a big difference or cause any damage?

My other question was about Air Cleaners. I've been told that you need to change these pretty much every ride to 2 rides. Is that accurate? (bear in mind I am a beginner, not racer). Also, I wanted to get your opinion on brands. I've looked at Uni-Filter, Ready Filter, and No-Toil. Are the pre-oiled/disposable filters a good buy? Or do you recomend the clean and re-use type? You can score multipacks (of the Ready Filters) on e_bay for pretty cheap. Would you stay away from any of the brands mentioned above?

Thanks so much for your help, this place is awesome.

Darby :)

XRpredator

AssClown SuperPowers
Damn Yankees
Aug 2, 2000
1. I don't think two hundredths of a quart is going to seize up your engine. You should be okay.

2. Any of those filters are good. The change interval is dependent on conditions. On a very dusty day, you might change out/clean the air filter several times. If the conditions are right, you might not have to change/clean it for a few rides. I've heard good things about the ready filters, and anything that makes a job easier while still offering the same protection is a good thing in my book.

Tree

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Aug 26, 2000