Carb overflow problem plus FMF exhaust questions

UFS207

Nov 15, 2004
Hi. I have a 2000 KDX220R. I bought it used about 3 months ago, I am pretty new to 2 strokes. I cannot get the damn carb to stop leaking out the overflow tube. I have replaced the rubber-plunger deal that stops the gas flow inside the carb bowl. I also thoroughly inspected the float for cracks plus tested it in a cup of gas to see if it was "water-logged" or something but it floats just fine and level. It`s not near as bad now but if I leave the bike sitting for more than 30 minutes or so there will be a puddle of fuel under it. I should also note that the carb is spotlessly clean and I can pull the bowl off the carb and "manually" hold upward on the float with a very light pressure and no fuel gets by. Float height is currently at .710" or 18mm from the bowl mating surface.

I also believe this is why the bike seems very inconsistent whenever I play around with jetting/needle/air screw settings due to the fact that the fuel level is so erratic. Any suggestions on how to correct this problem would be appreciated.

P.S. - Quick exhaust questions: How can I tell if the FMF Gnarly pipe on my bike is a woods or desert pipe? Also what is the difference between a FMF Power Core 2 and a FMF Turbine Core 2? I want a silencer I can take apart and clean.

Thanks for reading.

2wheeler

Dec 9, 2004
Adjust the float level. bend the tab on the float about 1 to 2 mm(to lower gas level). I did this to mine and solved the problem. As for the silencer the Turbine core 2 is a spark arrestor. The only real difference is it has a screen or wire mesh in it to stop sparks from coming out. You can take apart and repack both

BigRedAF

Jan 9, 2005
If the gas is coming out of the overflow line and the needle is in good condtion then your float is to high, plain and simple. Good luck, all should be fine.

Rhodester

May 17, 2003