Clutch engagement question

Wolf

doooode
Jul 31, 2000
Lack of manual and lack of experience :whiner: prompt me to pose this question:

On my son's Husky jr 50 ( its really a sixty) the clutch engagement "seems: to have changed.
First: It is a 3-shoe clutch.

As he revs the engine, it seems to take an awful long time until the clutch engages. He can almost "free rev" it. If going up a hill the thing seems to turn some really high rpms....

Is this a sign of a worn out clutch, or is there some sort of an adjustment? What else should I look for? Am I just paranoid?

I am new to the 50 scene (well, the one that requires maintenance:) ) and I bought the bike used, so please be patient.

Thanks much

Wolf

sean sexton

Jul 9, 2003
I'm not familiar with the 50 Jr clutch, but the ones on the CR50SLC (the liquid cooled 50) wear rather quickly. consequently they need fairly frequent adjustment.

Jasle

Sponsoring Member
Nov 27, 2001
Wolf,
The clutch on your bike is not the stock clutch. the JR came with a 2 shoe stock. If you can take a pic of it and post or e-mail I can probably tell you what it came from. Possibly the SR.
But these clutches are designed to "free wheel" until the bike hits 4000rpm or so. The Stall speed can be changed by adding or removing shims. If someone used the Cobra clutch you'd be set. Its vary straigt forward and does not require all the re-shimming the KTM clutch does. Just new washers every once in a while and your OK.

Absoloutley Key on all the Mini's is to change the gear oil OFTEN. In Arizona we changed it as much as after every Moto. Usually only once a day though. We used $4 a gallon ATF from wal-mart. It lubricates fairly well and was designed for Auto clutches. Also Stuff like Cobra clutch milk works well.