CR250: When does the low-end hurt you?

halowords

Sep 29, 2004
Just wondering, when does it hurt performance the worst on the current 250's?

Also wondering, how close does an EG Mo' Better port job get it to the YZ or RM 250 engines in terms of low-end power and being competative? I'm not planning on racing and I'm relatively new to motorcycles in general so I'm not sure it really affects me too much one way or the other, but I'm trying to decide between an '02-'03 CR250 and a Mo' Better port job, or an '02 CR250 chassis with a YZ250 or RM250 engine transplant for a fun project with my Ol' Man this winter/spring.

-Cheers

john3_16

May 17, 2004
I'd forget about trying to translpant the motor...A port job will give more power than most can handle for more than a couple of laps...Really, any 02' or 03' model 250cc 2 stroke that's ported will be putting out almost too much HP and there won't be much difference between all the bikes...Some may be a little stronger here while being weaker there but all will be stronger than stock...

Knowing this I'd go with the best suspended and best handling bike because you just can't bolt on good handling...And again, there is no real bad handling bike in those modle years but the CR has this category hands down...Stable, corners good, almost too easy to jump, and almost as light as a 125.

mtk

Jun 9, 2004
Dave,

You're going to worry yourself bald over this.

Buy a bike. Ride the snot out of it. Worry about the rest of it next winter. A bone-stock 2002 CR250 will pucker your sphincter just fine, top, bottom, or in between.