300wby

Dec 27, 2005
Hello everyone new member here and a total newbie.
I apologize in advance for any stupid questions! However please just keep in mind that there are no stupid questions, just stupid people who ask questions. ;)

Anyways, I'm looking at getting into dirt biking. A buddy of mine who rides trail and does some racing on his Honda 250 2stroke advised me to get a 125 class machine to learn on. Well that sounded like good advice to me so I went that route while talking to a rep at the dealership. He showed me a yz125 and the Suzuki equivalent (forgot the name) but he also told me that the yz125 has very "explosive power” in a small power band that is difficult to learn and difficult to work with on trail rides. The rep said I may be better off with a wr250f since I'm learning and will be on trails probably more than tracks thinking that the power is more consistent and predictable with a 4 stroke. However maintenance is an issue for me since I'd be learning it all from scratch I'd like to go with the bike that's easiest to maintain if I can. Also I'm 6'1" 220lbs so is that in itself a problem for a 125 class?

I'm confused and don’t know what to think about the rep's advice. Should I look at a 125 or a 2 stroke 250 or a 4 stroke 250? I’m lost…

I really appreciate any advice you can throw my way!!

Looking forward to participating in the forums...
300wby

Jamz

Dec 14, 2005