DRZ400S performance mod recommendations

BellevegasB

May 15, 2002
Hello all,
I'm a relative newbie, bought my DRZ400S about 5 months ago. Well, I'm comfortable enough on the bike to start looking for performance upgrades. I want the bike faster in the low to mid range. Much faster, actually! Top end doesn't matter too much. I do ride it on the street, but never on the highway, so I don't need a super high top end. I would however like to be able to go 65 to 70 when needed. So, supposing I set a budget of $500, what do you guys recommend? What mods offer the biggest bang for the buck? And should I possibly think about just putting all my cash into a big bore kit? Any info is appreciated.

azcab

May 6, 2001
For about $20 in jets, you can rejet, pull the airbox snorkel and open up the stock exhaust. You will notice an immediate boost in low and mid range. If you want more, spend $300 on a pipe and silencer, and you will see further gains.

DEANSFASTWAY

LIFETIME SPONSOR
May 16, 2002
Big bore kit and hot cam are the most needed things or are what will make the most difference and thats where the best value will be in my opinion .JMHO

MelloYello

~SPONSOR~
Nov 22, 2002
I think azcab is pointing you in the right direction. Rejetting and pulling the snorkel will make a noticeable difference. Adding an aftermarket exhaust will net good results also. If you have your stock sprockets (I believe 15/44?), you can go down to a 14 tooth front and that will give you a little more boost on the bottom. You will still be able to go over 70. Good luck.

Vytas

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Oct 31, 2001
I have already put a 14 tooth CS sprocket on mine and it made a difference.  Next I am going to modify the air box and rejet.  These the cheapest mods to make.  Next will be a larger rear sprocket and then maybe an exhaust.  Do a search on the DRZ and you will find some good info.  Good luck.

Pvt Joker

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Apr 29, 2002