sherrif

Jun 23, 2002
Hi guys, I desperately need some help ! I've just bought a '90 KX 250, and I'm having lots of trouble with it. The main fault is that it takes ages to start, and then it won't idle at all unless I screw the idle adjuster all the way in. If I rev it then, it takes ages for the revs to drop back down, and usually cuts out again. Also, it's chucking out loads of smoke, and it seems to be misfiring at low revs. Above around 1/4 throttle, it seems fine.
I've cleaned the carb and filter, fitted a new plug, but things are no better. It's on a standard needle, I've tried 160 and 165 mains, 45,50 and 60 pilots, and the air screw everywhere, all to no improvement.
I was just cleaning the bike, and noticed a crack in the bottom of the crankcase around one of the bolt lugs. I can't tell how deep it is, but would an air leak here give the symptoms described ? If so, any ideas on an easy fix ?
Sorry for the long post, but I'm pretty new to the two stroke MX thing, just come across from years on the road.

YZ Joust

Master of Jackassery
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Feb 21, 2002
Good lord man, don't scare me like that.... The bikes on life support but she'll pull through... From your description there are a number of things that could be wrong or need to be checked.... Check the crack for one thing!! How long have you had the bike? Do you know anything about how the bike was maintained? Was it running when you bought it? I'd say you may have to replace the case... Sounds like alot of probs but I would start w/ the damaged case.... :eek:

Last edited:

sherrif

Jun 23, 2002
I've only had her about two weeks, and don't know anything about her past, but I've just noticed that the gearbox drain plug has been drilled for lockwire.......Gulp ! I'll check out the crack today, any other obvious things to check for ? I suppose if I didn't have bad luck, I wouldn't have any luck at all....

Heilbronner

Apr 8, 2002