Shadowpillar

Oct 4, 2006
Okay, I'm relatively new at rebuilding engines, I know the basic part of the engine the cylinder and piston. but I have a good feeling I need to split the whole engine apart and replace some things, the poor thing sat out, in the open (with the head and cylinder removed) for 2 years, the oil had water in it when I drained it.

So, would putting in a new seals and bearings be a good idea? I dont plan on replacing the rod, it seems to be fine, but the bearings I wouldnt trust as when I would try to crank the engine to move it, it stuck until I used a lot of force to make it crank, then it would do it, but it felt somewhat sticky, which probably isnt a good sign.

So, how do I go about it? I know I'm going to need a clymer guide on the bike (DT175B) and some new bearings and seals, and a new piston connecting rod (this one is lightly oxidized and has been knocked about a few times)

Or do you guys think I even need to do this at all and just replace the piston on the bike and give it some fresh oil?

Sawblade

Timmy Timmy Timmy!
Sep 24, 2000
If the motor set for 2 years in the elements, you need to go a head rebuild the complete motor including the crank. You may as well have the crank rebuilt as a preventive measure. You know the old saying, pay me now or pay me later. Good luck! :cool:

Shadowpillar

Oct 4, 2006
yeah, it's better to fix the underlying problems so they dont destroy other perfectly good components.

the head and cylinder arent a problem, they've been sitting inside a garage all nice and cozy, prolly just need to be cleaned and dusted. it was the bottom end that sat out, though it had *some* protection from the elementsbecause the gas tank did cover it from the rain to some extent. either way, I want to ensure that the engine will have another 10k on it afterwards. Plus, It'll give me some experience in building a 2-stroke motorcycle engine.

Shadowpillar

Oct 4, 2006
CRazy250 said: