TEEEE

Jul 18, 2004
I am a complete newbie to dirtbikes, or all motorcycles for that matter. I bought my used KDX almost two months ago. Between teaching my son to ride his JR50 and work/family/etc, I never got a chance to really ride the thing. Until yesterday!

We logged about 25 miles yesterday afternoon, mostly on trails with lots of ruts, mud, rocks and roots. I crashed. Lots. 1 bent brake lever, 1 bent shifter, 1 torn seat cover, several new scratches and dings, and multiple bruises (on me, not the bike).

It was awesome! I’ve got a lot of learning to do, but it was super fun. Today I feel like I got my ass whooped, which I guess I did. Anyway, wanted to share the excitement. Thanks to all on here that have offered up advice to get me at least this far...

razrbakcrzy

Aug 12, 2004
Make me want to scream Yahooo lets ride but the rest of the office would frown on that what the heck! Yahooooo Let's riiiiiide.

Jim

m0rie

Nov 18, 2002
Glad to hear you had fun. The crashing is a (painful) part of learning. But this too shall pass, at least for the most part :-)

Pick up a pair of the Tusk Bark Busters from RockyMountainMC. For $20 they will save you many sets of levers. If you haven't already torn the bike apart and greased it all up there is no time like now :-) If you don't already have gear, a helmet and riding boots are the bare minimum for armor..if you can afford it knee guards, chest protector, etc all make the crashing part of learn a lot less painful.

-Maurice

TEEEE

Jul 18, 2004
m0rie said:
Pick up a pair of the Tusk Bark Busters from RockyMountainMC. For $20 they will save you many sets of levers. If you haven't already torn the bike apart and greased it all up there is no time like now :-) If you don't already have gear, a helmet and riding boots are the bare minimum for armor..if you can afford it knee guards, chest protector, etc all make the crashing part of learn a lot less painful.

-Maurice