First Ride: GasGas = FunFun

Got the EC300 out for the first time today. After taking several loving pics (I figure it'll never look that good again), and taking off the rear blinkers (yep, it's a Euro spec. -- not just headlight and taillight, but blinkers, even a dang key!), she was ready to be broken in. So off to the Vet track at Elsinore.

Had an absolute blast. I'm no expert (understatement of the year) but the only part I was worried about -- the forks -- worked great. The motor was awesome. And the weight -- geesh. Between the motor, the quick steering, and the weight loss, the fun meter was PEGGED! (The xr400 is indeed going up for sale). I think this was a perfect bike for a guy like me making the transition from a 4 to a 2 stroke. Like they say -- the power curve is so linear, and chugs so well, that it's sort of like a 3 stroke. All I know is it was all good -- I loved the increased ZIP, or POP, of the power, but never felt like it was trying to leave me behind. And if it felt this great on the track, I can't WAIT to get it out on the trails -- its intended home.

All in all it was very awesome day. Fun to ride with Bill and Dad again, and to meet J Dem Bones. Only down side was when my XR put down my neighbor who had borrowed it. (He's fine, guys. That golf ball on his elbow was gone by the time we got home thanks to some ice).

Ear to ear grin -- for SURE. :cool:

p.s. Brings to mind my signature line!

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
Sounds sweet! Bring it up here in October to Elkins Flat so we can try to arrange a Gas Gas 300 vs. KTM300 vs. TM300 vs. CRE250 vs. Gas Gas 200 shoot out! :)

justql

Sponsoring Member<BR>Club Moderator
I have been looking for a way to desrcribe the power. You nailed it when you said 3 stroke. :)

That's one trick machine you got there LT. Congrats, can't wait to do a ride.

Longtime,

Yes the fun factor is high on a GasGas!! Congrads on the new bike!!! Looking forward to meeting you in Oct and checking out your bike!!!