bobthedog

Nov 27, 2002
Can anyone advice me,
I'm running stock forks and I'm finding that they are to soft under heavy breaking. I can't afford new springs as I've just payed out for this new 220r. I read that i can adjust them but have no idea on how to do this. HELP....! Which screws,top-bottom of forks,which way clockwise or anti.

If anyone can help would you make it simple !

CHEERS

PAUL THE WELSHMAN

G. Gearloose

Pigment of ur imagination
Jul 24, 2000
You should get the springs soon, but you could also add some preload if your static (unlayden) fork sag is beyond 3/4". It s not a substiture for the right springs. The fork adjusters are rerebound only, so don't expect much improvment with the brake diving.

bobthedog

Nov 27, 2002
Thanks but as I'm a novice , how do I add preload to the forks ? I'm OK with a tool bage but not great............... would you keep it simple.

THANKS

PAUL

G. Gearloose

Jul 24, 2000
If you find you need more preload, there is metal spacer under the fork cap sandwiched between The

G. Gearloose

Jul 24, 2000
Pardoned me, continued..

between the fork spring, some washers and cap. This spacer may be replaced with a section of similar diameter PVC pipe, squarely cut to a longer dimension, and reinstalled. This method will need to be repeated when new spings are installed.

Replace your fork fluid soon and often, many here like synthetic ATF.

Not to beat a dead horse, but new springs are superior, and xr400 fork springs have been given big thumbs-up.

Search for previous topics for a wealth of info.

Robcolo

Jan 28, 2002