a leaner oil mix than 24/1. OK, 50 parts gas to 1 part oil and
the ratios vary. My 99 RM 125 smokes quite a bit and
puts out a good amount of spooge. The bike starts on the
first kick and runs great except for some low end bogging
in the higher gears when pulling out of a turn etc. My jetting
is set too rich I assume, I have the clip in the top position
to lean the mixture out but still getting low end bog. Is the
smoke and spooge coming from my fuel/oil lubricating mix
maybe too rich, or is it coming from the carb being jetted too rich. A 24/1 engine has much better lubricating properties than a 50/1 engine. More oil, more smoke and spooge.
Any thoughts.

DBragg

Oct 31, 2005
Are your piston and rings in good shape, you could be burning gear oil. You could try to mix a small batch of fuel and oil, and just give it a try. If it smokes more, try to get some good smoke rings going. Im not a pro or anything but thoughs are some ideas. also, your spark plug should give you a hint.

Anssi

May 20, 2001
DBragg said:
Are your piston and rings in good shape, you could be burning gear oil.

Not in a two-stroke, not because of bad ring sealing. The crank seal can leak and let transmission oil into the crankcase, though.

husabutt

Dec 26, 2005
Truckman said:
I know this will get plenty of opinions so here goes. 50/1 is
a leaner oil mix than 24/1. OK, 50 parts gas to 1 part oil and
the ratios vary. My 99 RM 125 smokes quite a bit and
puts out a good amount of spooge. The bike starts on the
in the higher gears when pulling out of a turn etc. My jetting
is set too rich I assume, I have the clip in the top position
to lean the mixture out but still getting low end bog. Is the
smoke and spooge coming from my fuel/oil lubricating mix
maybe too rich, or is it coming from the carb being jetted too rich. A 24/1 engine has much better lubricating properties than a 50/1 engine. More oil, more smoke and spooge.
Any thoughts.