Getting first bike, ever. Need some advice

P&R

Sep 8, 2004
Hey all.

I am new to bikes, and need some advice. I am 5'11", 175 lbs with no riding experience. I am wanting to get a first bike. I have never even ridden a motorized bike, and this bike will be used to learn on as well as enjoy, once I get the hang of it.

I live on an airport and it will be used as a "runabout" to tool around the airport. No dirt, no trails, no mx, no jumps, no racing, nothing. 99% pavement and 1% nice, flat fields with grass no taller than your shins. I don't need the "latest and greatest", just something to learn on and get around on.

I am skilled at fixing things, so I am not worried about maintenance, plus I hear that dirtbikes are pretty simple beasts anyway. I heard that 2-strokes are cheaper to work on than 4-strokes. Is it just parts or what?

A friend recommended a Honda 250 4-stroke, as it would fit for my "light-duty" needs and still be capable if I ever wanted to take it to the woods. I can't spend more than $1000-$1200, so my choices are limited. Would a 125 be cheaper and still work? An older bike is perfectly fine as long as it is in good shape, but I hear that dirtbikes are run hard from day one, so finding a solid, older model is well nigh impossible.

What about converting it to Enduro-specs down the road?

I read back through 10 pages of threads and nothing really addressed my questions.

Thanks for your time.

Edited to add: I hear about bikes with nasty, abrupt power curves that don't make any power unless you rev the piss out of them. I want something than can pull on the whole rev range, particularly the lower end and is docile. Since I'm a beginner, maybe something slightly underpowered would be nice. I do NOT want the bike coming out from under me and me getting hurt.

RoostRider

Uhhh...
Aug 24, 2004