Good buy for this YZ 125? Please help!

Ryan314

Feb 4, 2007
Ok so I'm in the market for a bike. I'm new to bikes and I'm finally going to buy one. I've always wanted a YZ 125, so that's what I'm going for most likely.

I found an ad for one in my local paper. It's a 97 Yamaha YZ 125 with new top end, new plastics and graphics, pro taper bars, new tires, full exhaust, rep ported and full suspension. Says bike is in amazing shape and is faster than his 03 YZ.

Here's a pic of it:

yz.jpg

He's asking $1600 for it.

Good bike from what you can read/see? Good for a beginner like me? I'm not looking to spend much so this almost looks perfect.

Thanks,
Ryan.

Jun 5, 2006
make sure he has proof of all of those upgrades. (mainly new top end). otherwise looks like a good bike. considering it's a '97, you could probably get him to go even a little lower on the price. as long as you're the right size (5'5" or higher, 120+ pounds) then you should be able to begin on a yz, although you'll have to take it a little easy at first. Also, make sure u ride it before u buy it

Ryan314

Feb 4, 2007
Ok, thanks. I'm a total newb when it comes to bikes, I'm just starting out. I am 5'7", 125 pounds. I'm gonna see if he'll do $1200.

yz125yo

Jan 4, 2007
Ryan314 said:
Ok, thanks. I'm a total newb when it comes to bikes, I'm just starting out. I am 5'7", 125 pounds. I'm gonna see if he'll do $1200.

that would be a better buy. what he is asking is WAY to much for a 97

rmc_olderthandirt

~SPONSOR~
Apr 18, 2006
Agree that it is too much money. My son just bought a '96 YZ-250 for $1600, included a spare (new) pipe, a couple extra sprokets, new brake pads (still in blister pack), and a few other spare parts. Tires were in really good shape. He picked it up from the guy and hauled it out to the desert for the Thanksgivin gweekend and has been just pounding that bike since.