GreenBike

Jul 25, 2014
Hello Everyone,
I have just joined,and this is my first post..
I'm looking for help to solve this problem with my 02 kdx 220...I'll try to describe it the best I can. Keep in mind that I am not a mechanic but I am somewhat mechanically inclined.This bike is new to me a couple of years ago but have only ridden it a handful of times.
Here's the problem..While sitting on the bike at idle I noticed that when I turn the bars left to right a few times in a row ( shaking the bars left then right ) the idle slowly drops off to the point where the motor dies.If I stop shaking the bars the motor will pick up again and idle normally
When I lean the bike over to either side it will also slowly die out,if I jounce the suspension while sitting on the bike at an idle ,the motor will slowly drop off and die ; but as soon as I stop, it picks up and idles normally again ?
Things I've checked...looked for a electrical issue at the kill switch,checked connection under seat,looking for chafed,cracked or broken wires ( found nothing ) removed carb checked float height ( within spec's) soaked and blew out carb ( thoroughly cleaned it )set float height , Checked fuel tank,petcock,cap and vent all seemed to be fine ? No crap in the tank petcock screens are clean...Yet I still has the same problem...?
Could it be something more
internal ....? Any help or idea's would be appreciated... Thanks

truespode

Moderator / Wheelie King
Jun 30, 1999
I would have thought the float height was off but since you checked that I would also check the throttle cable and slide to see if it is sticking.

If the slide is sticking and keeping things open it can cause a jetting issue and when you jostle things the slide then changes the steady state.

I am not a mechanic and this is just something I would check. I did have slide issues on my 93 yz/wr 250 but it didn't die out like yours.