rick82cr250

Aug 20, 2006
Hello all; Newbie here looking for some help. I own a 82cr250. Decent bike that i bought a month ago. The first problem I had was a inner waterpump seal leaking. Replaced seal and new waterpump. Took it for second test run and the y connector to radiator hoses busted (nice burn on leg). Replaced y fitting and installed a temp gauge where the hose leaves the head, also replaced head gasket. Piston and cylinder seem to be in good shape with not much carbon . Running 32:1. Now the problem is that I can start it and let it sit and idle for a good 10 minutes, then take a calm ride up and down the road and the gauge barely moves.(running it rich) The longer and harder I get into it the higher the gauge climbs. It will stick around 190 for a cpl of minutes then climb to 220, then continues to climb to 240. Now if you drop it back down to idle, the temp starts dropping back down to 220. I would greatly love to keep it under 210 and be able to lean it into the happy zone. I dont feel as if the radiators are clogged, since i have flushed about 2 gals of antifreeze thru them so far. And like I said earlier, the carb is running fat. I dont think its a air leak cause of how well it runs and idles. Even went as far as trying some of that antifreeze coolant to lower the temp. Rad shrouds in great shape. I dont think there is a lean condtion on top end either with having a wet plug. Thx for any suggestions.

Pete Payne

MX-Tech Suspension Agent
Nov 3, 2000
Couple of things, Make sure the jetting is close , i know you said the plug was wet , but is there any color to it ? Black=rich brown =OK white =lean.
If the plug looks OK then -----
I think I would get some automotive coolant flush and run it through it . I have seen some radiators be pluged up and do not show any sign of corrosion by looking through it at the filler neck .

rick82cr250

Aug 20, 2006