Hi all. New dirt rider with a new dirt rider question.

jmnvhc

Aug 1, 2008
Hey! I just purchased a used wr250f and a ttr230 for my wife (who's never ridden a motorcycle before). When I was testing out the ttr for her I was amazed how low 1st gear is... it's a almost a crawl, but perfect for her. The wr is an '04 and the ttr an 06 and they both look like they rolled off a showroom floor through and through. Not used much apparently.

I have a few years street experience but am looking for to playing in the dirt for a change (no slow drivers to get stuck behind, no lanes... heaven :) )

Anyway, the question I have is about tieing the bikes down... is it harmful to the forks to compress them when tightening the straps?

If so what do I need to properly tie down the bike without damaging the front suspension?

Thanks...

IndyMX

Crash Test Dummy
~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2006
Amo, IN
It's not going to hurt them to compress them when you tie them down, so long as you don't leave them like that for a long period of time.

Say, if you are going across the country, and it's going to take you a few days to get there, I'd probably loosen them up while I was parked for the night..

If you are just taking them out to the ORV park, and only going to have them in the truck for a couple of hours, no problem..

If it worries you though, you can always buy a "fork saver", they're about 40 bucks, and go between the tire and fender, and don't allow the forks to compress more than about an inch.

If you are handy, you can make one. Figure out the distance between the tire and the fender with the fork at the top of the travel, cut a 2x4 that length, and you're done.

jmnvhc

Aug 1, 2008
Thanks, I don't think we'll be hauling the bikes more than 1-2 hours at the most, so won't be a problem.

Going trail riding for the first time tomorrow... if anybody's going to be at Brown's camp tomorrow near Portland, OR, I'll be the guy picking up the wr250 off the ground :)

jmnvhc

Aug 1, 2008