Hooked! Need bike but confused about types

just-startin

Jun 4, 2008
Hi there,

I am a beginner ( but had street bikes in my youth ). I had a go on a CRF250F ( or something like that ) and did my first ever jump. It was one of the most amazing feelings I have ever experienced ! I am now keen to buy a bike but I have no idea which model numbers/letters correspond to which type of bike. I loosely think of bikes as either "Trail/Farm", "Motox", or "Enduro" but I have no idea which is which in terms of model numbers like XR, CR, CRF, CRxxxR etc.

Is there a "decode" table from someone somewhere which shows what bikes are for what purpose ?

I'm 30. I am 6'2, 198lbs of raw flab :whoa: . I'm not interested in racing. I'm mechanically OK for top end by myself. 2 or 4 stroke is fine. I only have $2,310 to spend. I am quite physical and want to be able to throw it around etc

What I want the bike for is the following things:
1) Learn to pop wheelies, there's something weirdly addictive about this
2) Do jumps. No whips or fancy stuff, just plain old jumps
3) Go blasting through the local forests and fields ( hilly and muddy )
4) Take it to a motox track and fool around ( not race )

I would love something light ( kickstart, no lights or stand etc ) and tough because I'm probably going to drop it alot. I was thinking of a CR250 but that's only because I know the Honda range. What's different with a CRF250 or CR250R ?
What are the Kawasaki, Suzuki, Yamaha, Husqvarna versions of a CR250 ?

TJSCOTT1977xr75

Mod Ban
Oct 4, 2007
ok, to answer your first question, for honda, xr= older trail bike crf-r=four stroke race bike, crf-x= new full blown trail bike, crf-f= multi purpose, mostly trail bike cr=2 stroke race bike.
yamaha
wr=full blown trail bike, yz=2 stroke race bike, yz-f= 4 stroke race bike
suzuki rm=2 stroke race bike, rm-z= 4 stroke race bike, drz= 4 stroke trail bike
kawasaki kdx, 2 stroke trail, kx=2 stroke track and so on.