MotoManiac

Jul 12, 2001
I am a personal trainer here in Dallas, TX . I have often defended motocross as both an anaerobic and aerobic exercise. It is often difficult to explain how Motocross is one of the most physical demanding sports (@ the professional level) today to people who have never raced. My question would be after an hour of racing motocross (accumulated heats or just flat out on hour) competitively around how many calories do the pro’s burn through. My buddy at the gym uses pre-core elliptical machines and those machines report that he burns around 850-900 calories for one hour. He insists that motocross is not aerobic at all. My basic argument was that an outdoor/supercross race is in fact an aerobic activity and it would burn significantly more calories than the pre-core machine. I know this question is out in left field, I figured I would try here 1st. Anyone have any scientific data or references I could check out. Thanks for any help!!!! Ryan

Anssi

May 20, 2001
It's not that far out there and is in fact very significant in determining how motocrossers should train.

I wore my recording heart rate monitor once for a moto and my HR shot through my anaerobic threshold in the first lap and stayed there. The pros stay a bit lower but your friend must not have a clue if he thinks MX is not an endurance sport. Taking him riding is the only way to prove it to him if he's that thick.

As you as a personal trainer must know, motocross is not the most physically demanding activity if only measuring calories burned (running must be pretty high up the list), but the demands come from the need to have excellent basic fitness to recover even during a moto (jumps, easy sections) and to have bursts of power available when needed (passing, places where you really have to hang on).

zio

Mr. Atlas
Jul 28, 2000