How much compression should I have ??

250girl

Mod Ban
Dec 19, 2007
Ok, so my Dad and I just rebuilt a 1986 RM250. We put all sorts of new parts and stuff in it, so it should be running like new( even though in my opinion it isn't). So we did a compression test on it and came up with 160.

Now, my old WR250(2-stroke !!) has started acting up. It will start and I can get it to about the top of the driveway and then it completely stops running. I asked around, and I found out that it hasn't been rebuilt in at least 6 years, maybe 7 or 8, and I have been riding it hard and steady for about 2 years, and before that who knows. So we did a compression test on it and came up with 225 !!! On a worn out old WR !! :uh:

So I need to know, what should the compresion be on these bikes?

Last edited:

polaris4x4er

Apr 7, 2008
my yz250 has about 180 and i have been told that they are good till about 135 and im pretty sure that 4 strokes have way more compression then 2 strokes.

250girl

Mod Ban
Dec 19, 2007
Just to clear things up, my WR is a 2-stroke. Up until 1997 (8?) they were all 2-strokes.

CarnageZ28

Mar 25, 2008
If it was me I would be kicking the bike over to top dead center and then pulling the cylinder head. Sounds to me as if you may have excessive carbon built up in the combustion chamber/on the piston.

This will spike compression ratios through the roof. Make them HARD to kick. And most importantly, causes detonation ( The ignition, from the excessive heat of compression, of the air fuel mixture well BEFORE the spark would normally occur; causing the piston to have to fight against these forces on its way to the top of the compression stroke ) which WILL grenade the top end. The piston can only handle so much.

Also, will cause bike to run hot, feel weak, and stall out frequently.