Is a 2 stroke the way 2 go for me

johan

Nov 22, 2004
Hallo To All
I am new to the sport of motocross, so please bear with me if these questions are simple .
I have ridden a few enduros and in all I propably have 12 years riding experience.I am really interrested in buying a 2004 rm 250 since i never could afford a bike of my own.
The questions i have concerns something very important to me and this is maintenance.Can somebody please tell how often you have to replace the topend of these bikes and what would be the longest that you can run the bike without giving it a fresh topend.I have read that they recomend that you dont run a topend longer than 20 hours.If this is the case wont I be better of with a 4 stroke that just need regular oil changes.
I am really on a very tight budget as I am sure it is for a lot of other people and I would really like to know which option would be less expensive than the other in the long run .I plan on buying a bike second hand and I would like to know if one can actually buy a 4 stroke in used condition that can be trust worthy and not cost you a lot of money in the long run when it comes to repairs and such.Last question ;how much higher is the fuel consumption for a 2 stroke versus a 4 stroke and what range can I expect while doing trail riding on a stock rm 250.Please Rm owners can you answer these questions for me .I appreciate all your answers.
Regards
Johan

Rob1111

Aug 15, 2004
How long a top end lasts will be determined by how hard you ride the bike. From what I have been told they typically last about 60 hours. As far as fuel enconomy is concered, a 2 stroke will not last as long on a tank of gas compared to a 4 stroke.

KaTooMer

~SPONSOR~
Jul 28, 1999