Is the CRF450 the best bike for me?

Rockey5000

Mod Ban
May 6, 2002
Hey Guys,
I’ve been doing some thinking about the new CRF450. It looks like a great bike but is very expensive and before I shell out ~$6000 for a new dirtbike, I want to be absolutely sure it is right for me. This will be pretty long because I want it to be as complete as possible. I am 15 years old, almost 16. I am 5’ 8" tall and weigh 190 lb. I have sat on a CRF 450 and do fell like it fits me well. I currently ride a KX125 which is heavily modified for extra power and is very fast for a 125. I have about 3 years of riding experience. I feel as though I am ready for a 250 but I don’t think that 2-Stroke power is the best choice (sans the KDX series) for my riding style and area. My riding style is this: I do not keep the bike on the pipe very well and favor stability and smooth power over an unstable bike and pipey powerbands. I can control the size of my KX without a problem so I am not worried about the size of the CRF. My riding area consists of about 30% sand, 40% trails and 30% MX Tracks. I spend about 50% in sand, 30% riding the trails and 20% on the MX tracks. I do a bit of jumping so I need a bike which will handle it well. The sand at my riding area is pretty deep but does not require the use of a paddle tire. The trails are mostly hard pack with a bit of mud and the tracks are intermediate to soft terrain. As for mechanics and maintenance I am mechanically inclined and can do top ends on a 4 stroke along with most other things. So my question is this, do you think the CRF is the right bike for me? If there is anything you would like to know just ask. Thanks for the help,
Mike

Mike198

Jul 8, 2002