KayDeeXer

May 7, 2004
Hey everyone! This is my first time on this forum, so forgive me if this is posted in the wrong spot. Anyway, I just got a 2004 KDX220 and I couldn't be happier with it. I was however wondering, for an average trail rider, if jetting my bike would make it too powerful and no longer enjoyable to put around in the trails. I ride strictly trail and I am just an average joe rider. Just wondering what you guys thought about it before I chop my air box.

P.S.- These bikes are awsome! Best bike I have ever ridden!

kawdude

~SPONSOR~
May 20, 2003
Jetting the bike can give the bike more power but jetting is should not be viewed as hot rodding the motor. Jetting simply is tuning the engine. Normally the factories are very conservative in their jetting so fine tuning by jetting will make the bike run better.

RACINRAY

Feb 18, 2004
leave the bike stock . but fine tune the jetting that should be tolerable for you the more the performance parts will just increase the power nothing wrong with that of course but if you are not ready for it in the skills department could be dangerous. ride on .

Canadian Dave

Super Power AssClown
Apr 28, 1999
Yes there is additional power to be had by taking some time to jet your bike properly. There are a number of other advantages as well though that for many may outweigh the additional power.

A well jetted engine will burn less fuel than one that is jetted rich (KDXs are traditional jetted very rich from the factory), they will foul less plugs/ no plugs, the power valve system will last longer between cleanings, carbon is very abrasive . . . rich jetting produces excessive carbon and thus additional wear, the pipe will see less carbon being deposited inside of it (particularly in the header section), less unburnt fuel/spoog will be spit from the silencer etc etc.