firffighter

Jan 31, 2005
Last year I took my 9 year old to Florence, OR to do some dune riding on his KX 60. It is a totally stock bike and had dirt tires. He actually did pretty well on that bike on the hard, wet sand and small dunes (he got a lot of looks and thumbs up being the smallest bike out there). He absolutely loved riding there and wants to do more dune riding. He is now 10, but is very small (65 lbs.) so he is still on the 60. My question is if I take him to do more sand/dune riding should I buy a paddle for the bike? I can get one from Skattrack with 4 paddles on it. Also should I jet the bike richer for this type of riding? Anyone take their kids to the dunes, or is it too challenging for the little ones? Like I said, he did well on the small stuff and picked it up pretty fast. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Okiewan

Admin
Dec 31, 1969
Texas
Gotta admit, I have little experience in sand, but will a 60 turn a paddle?

motoB

Mar 6, 2002
Hey Fighter

My son and friends go to Glamis all the time. He started on an xr88 in the flats.
He is now 11 on a Kx65. I got a paddle from Rocky...
He absolutely loves it. Jet alittle richer yes. I only do the main I think 220 or 230. I went down 2 teeth from stock on the rear.
Added 50 cc to the forks.
He now hangs the big bowls with me on my 250.
Now he wants an 85 but thats another story.
If you have any ?'s we'll get ya figured out.
Brian

forgot to add we both run 100LL at 40:1 with amsoil

Last edited:

firffighter

Jan 31, 2005
motoB,