DEVONC

Dec 22, 2005
Is this model too aggressive for a first-timer? The guy at the dealer just gave me the blanket statement of "those are high maintenance race bikes" (KTM minis). Granted they're mainly a Honda dealer and he'd probably prefer to sell the CRF50. Looking at the KTM model lineup this one seems to be the entry level model, with plenty of 50's above it. Is it truly beyond the realm of an absolute beginner?
Thanks!

ellandoh

dismount art student
~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Aug 29, 2004
depending on the age and prerequisites of the rider , i started my nephews on an electric 200$ pocket rocket so they would understand twisting the throttle , brakes , and most importantly they had the ability to go fast enough to get hurt with little effort. i think kids dont realize that just because they didnt have to work to get up to speed it is still going to hurt. a short while on that and they jumped right on the LEM , which is comparable to the entry level KTM......their ages , almost 4 and almost 5 . the youngest is a wildman, blackened a fingernail and a toenail , lost em both . continues to be fearless :coocoo:

edit: sorry i was thinking of the pro jr with the lem, im not familiar with the mini adventure

Last edited:

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
I'll agree it totally depends on the kid. The mini adventure is the mildest KTM but still significantly more aggressive than a JR50/PW50. If the child is reasonably large/strong and not real timid then it might work OK, on the other hand if they are not to sure about the riding gig then this might be a sure way to turn them off. My son moved to a full on race KTM nin after 2 years on a PW50 and was joyous but I don't know that would have been the case with that bike as a starter.

Vic

***** freak.
LIFETIME SPONSOR
May 5, 2000