Last night as a full time slacker.

IndyMX

Crash Test Dummy
~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2006
Amo, IN
At 9am tomorrow I have to be at Corp Headquarters of Republic Airways to complete New Hire orientation.

I've been on "perm disability" since November of 2005, after my second surgery for Colon Cancer.

As of January 1st of this year the government deemed me healthy enough to return to the grindstone. Some have said how unjust it is that they did this. I was ready a year ago.

I finally got my doctor's approval back in early December.

When you consider that only 5% of the folks that have stage 4 colon cancer survive 5 years, it's a pretty huge deal for me to be going back to work full time.

I personally feel that motocross saved my life. I never rode an MX bike before my cancer. I started riding a couple months after my last round of Chemo. And since I had nothing else to do, I sort of immersed myself in it completely.

I don't know how or why, and don't really need to, but riding a bike as often as I could and being around the tracks gave me something to live for. I really believe in the power of positive thinking, and give credit to MX for giving me something to focus on other than the possibility that I'd die.

Here's to another 5 years cancer free!!

IndyMX

Crash Test Dummy
~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2006
Amo, IN
I'll take it 1 day at a time Bob.. 50 would be a little much though. If I could survive another 25 I'd be thrilled.

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago
Way to go GARY!!!

SpDyKen

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 27, 2005
Great to hear! Tenacity is a great quality to posess. :cool:
good luck with your new job, Gary. :nod:

ellandoh

dismount art student
~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Aug 29, 2004
WOW, I like that. one more reason to keep my bike FOREVER. :nod:

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
Go get'em Igor! ;)

RM_guy

Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 21, 2000
North East USA