breedlove23

Mar 29, 2006
Well. Today was a learning experience to say the least... totally stoked befored the ride totally worried after. The story.....So I am new to the whole dirt bike scene, wanted something to challenge me but could not fork out the dough to lay down a good used bike...well long story short just did it the good old fashioned way and borrowed the money from Yamaha....Anyway so I get a TTR 250 '06. Cheapest 250 I could find. Have not had any problems so far. Got three hunderd + miles on the steed and already am feeling the pinch for some punch....also the very first time I dumped her I bent the cheap steel bars....so I do some research and discover that a slip on exhaust, an opened up air box and a rejetted carb are the way to go to open the old girl up. And that I should have replaced the stock bars with some aluminum in the first place. Away I go to the bike shop. Order my exhaust along with the other goodies and anxiously await my booty. It all comes in soon enough and I start with my first experience with a carb of any kind and a bar exchange. I went with the pro taper contour woods high. I was a little nervous with grips being a newbie but it went suprisingly smooth. Super easy to manipulate the carb once you see how they go together. Had zero problems with the jets or pipe. Ran into a small problem with new fastway f3 footpegs cylinder being a little bit too big. Simply ground of the excess and fitted the pegs. I love the pegs (only got 20 or so trail miles but so far I am in love) compared to the stockers. The bar is also much better than the bent version.....so on to the trail I go I set out on Tin Cup (just NE of Baldwin, Michigan). The ride was totally sweet rain the day before had the dust under control and the trail was all mine. I get through the 21 mile loop and decide that one pass would have to do. Had to get to the honey do list. Well when I get home I decide that I will adjust my shifter to accomadte the new pegs...this is when