traffic

Nov 29, 2012
Hi, I bought a bike for my young son to ride last year and now I want to ride with him. I'm new to riding. 170 lbs and 6 ft tall. I'm thinking street legal although 9 times out of 10 I will be on the trail near the Rockies. I'm thinking drz 400 or wr 250. Lots of my buddies ride so i would like to at least keep up with their dust trail. Something like that. Any suggestions? Thanks front a new dirt rider.

High Lord Gomer

Poked with Sticks
Sep 26, 1999
Welcome!

The DRZ will be a little tamer and slightly more road worthy but also heavier. You'd be more likely to overheat the WR riding with a small/slow kid.

There's a whole forum for what bike to get and I'll move this there to hopefully get more responses.

traffic

Nov 29, 2012
Thanks HLG! I certainly want the lightest bike thats reasonable. I also need one "capable" of keeping up with some riding buddies. Do you know if the street legal series of bikes tend to be of lower compression and thereby possibly cooler running? On my list are pretty much all 250's...Husqvarna te 250, kawasaki KLX 250, WR as mentioned, Honda 250. KTM would be good but a little expensive.

High Lord Gomer

Poked with Sticks
Sep 26, 1999
AFAIK the WR and CRFX have the same compression as their MX sounterparts. The cam profile and timing may be a little different but otherwise they are very similar. Not sure but I believe the same is tru of the KXL250. Don't know anything about the TE.The CRF230 and DRZ400 are both more closer to trail bikes while the WR and CRFX 250s are closer to MX bikes.

Any of those bikes will be able to keep up with your friends. The rider is the big limiting factor.

_JOE_

~SPONSOR~
May 10, 2007