MattXR250R

Oct 21, 2002
Hey everyone,Let me kinda explain my background so you will kinda know a little bit. I started riding around 3 years or so ago. I started on an XR250R..which I rode for around 2 years and then bought a 96 CR250R which I really like but want to get a new bike now and sell my 96 while I can still get a little out of it. I have went back and forth between getting another 250 2-stroke to trying to decide if I want a 250 2-stroke,250F,450F. I have never rode a new MX 4-stroke. I was leaning more towards a 4-stroke. But now kinda leaning more towards getting another 2-stroke. I just am not sure though. If I get another 250 2-stroke I really have my eyes set on a KTM 250SX.

From what the mags said I think it was the 03 that had such a hard hit some PROS didn't like it. Is the 04 like this or have they tamed it down a bit? My 96 CR250R does not hit hard at all. Not to me anyways. Do any of you recommend a Jap bike over the KTM? I have never had a bike with a linkless rear suspension.

The other 2502-stroke I looked at next down from the KTM was the 04 KX250. Any help would be appreciated. Deciding on what to get is not easy. Want to make sure I get the right bike.

MattXR250R

Oct 21, 2002
Sorry,I forgot to post what type of riding I do. 95% of my riding so far has been trails. But yesterday I went to a MX track and video taped some of my friends and man..looks like a total blast..I have been on some tracks..did a few SMALL doubles and really want to get into MX..although I will still ride trails to. But will probably try and get to the track every saturday or so with my friends.

elf

Jun 7, 2003