psdan000

Mar 7, 2009
hey guys, this is my first post here on the forums. I am new to the two-stroke world and need some help. Yesterday i picked up a 98 RM125 from a buddy. i got it for next to nothing but it needs some work. heres a list of things wrong

-it will not idle, and bogs down when i give it too much throttle, im guessing a carb issue, possibly fuel mixture, havent mixed up any new fuel for it yet.
-leaks coolant out of the overflow tube, i still have to check the level for sure, but it leaked a good amount out so i dont think its too full. was told it had a new thermostat and i replaced the radiator cap today.
-sometimes when i go from neutral to 1st gear (with the clutch lever pulled in all the way) it stalls like i havent even pulled the clutch, im hoping this is just a cable adjustment but not sure.
-and finally, its leaking fuel out of the bottom of the crankcase at the gasket where the two halves come together, but it seems to be hit or miss, doesnt do it all the time.

I wouldnt mind spending a couple hundred getting this thing going, but like i said im pretty new to the 2 stroke world. any tips/advice would be greatly appreciated. And does anyone know a good place to get a repair/service manual for this bike? thanks for the help

Dan

gregorious77

Feb 1, 2009
psdan000 said:
hey guys, this is my first post here on the forums. I am new to the two-stroke world and need some help. Yesterday i picked up a 98 RM125 from a buddy. i got it for next to nothing but it needs some work. heres a list of things wrong

-it will not idle, and bogs down when i give it too much throttle, im guessing a carb issue, possibly fuel mixture, havent mixed up any new fuel for it yet.
-leaks coolant out of the overflow tube, i still have to check the level for sure, but it leaked a good amount out so i dont think its too full. was told it had a new thermostat and i replaced the radiator cap today.