New guy here. Would like some advice?

cowroy

Oct 22, 2009
Hi I have been riding the streets since 2002 and now I want to get dirty.
So my question is, for someone who has never been off road which yamaha would you suggest? I am 25 years old 6' tall and 190lbs. I want a 4stroke, something with plenty of power, but can still creep on the trails. There is a good logistical reason it has to be a yamaha. So watcha think? Oh and it needs to be budget priced, no brand new stuff.

motodr9

Sep 1, 2003
With your limitations....

A) Used YZ450 (MX oriented, but good overall)

B) Used WR450 (Off-road oriented, but also good overall)

You could also consider a YZ250F, but you better look it over really well. The 250 4T need more frequent valve adjustments and top end service.
Buying someones beat up 4T will mean $$$ later. Look for a good one.

jb_dallas

Feb 17, 2009
I own a YZ400F motocross bike and an XR 400, and I trail ride with both. I can tell you that a YZ250 or YZ450 is not an ideal trail bike. I bought mine with an oversized gas tank and I geared it down, but it doesnt have the wide range (WR) transmission and bigger radiators, etc that make the WR a superior trail bike. You cant beat the XR on the trail for low end power, but it is a snail compared to the YZ. With no experience on the dirt, I think a 450 is a LOT of power for you. I would recommend starting on a WR250...then upgrading later.

cowroy

Oct 22, 2009
I have heard it both ways now. So the decision is 250 or 450? I work with a guy that has had 13 dirtbikes the last of which was a tt500 how would it compare to a wr450. He told me that if i got a 250 I would always want more power. Well if I could only afford a Husqvarna 310 I could split it right down the middle :laugh: .

jb_dallas

Feb 17, 2009