jboomer

~SPONSOR~
Jan 5, 2002
Well, I've estimated I've got over 100 hours on this topend and it's time to replace it. Probably close to 2/3 of these hours are woods riding, the other third mx. I'm a novice racer (not a "screamer", and I love the low and mid of this bike!). This will be the 2nd piston (Wiseco) I've put in the bike since new (I generally do a piston a year -- approx 75 hours) and the first time I've cleaned the powervalve. The first 50-70 hours on this last piston I was running pretty rich. I've jetted and reached zero spooge, near perfect plug chop, smokes only on first start of the day, and instantaneous throttle response. My settings: 155, 2nd from top, 45 pilot, Castor 927 with 93 octane pump gas (32:1), PC pipe and stock silencer (I've got the PC shorty, but I think the stock pipe is a tad quieter with virtually nil performance difference) and a BR7ES in sunny Florida at sea level. I probably don't clean my filter as often as I should (every 10-15 hours), especially in the conditions that I ride (very sandy). I've not done any type of modifications to the cylinder or replated and feel like I'll probably never need to (although I may purchase DFII when this set of reeds go bad (only had to replace the reeds once since I bought the bike).

The piston looks nearly perfect (compared to the pic Eric has posted on his site). Although there is a tad (1/4 inch by 1/4 inch) bit of blow by below each ring on the left side of the piston. Either my rings are showing their age or the cylinder is a bit "out of round." Other than that, no scoring of the piston or cylinder.