Newbie ...gettin first bike ...HELP!!

WRXman

Apr 1, 2004
Hey all,

The name is Jack from Binghamton, NY, and I'm WRXman (not to be mistaken with the WRXman that is KDXer of the year or is so mentioned in a posted thread ....it was definately odd lookin at the forums for the first time and seein my user name in a thread already :ohmy:)

Anyways, i have no dirt bike experience besides seein a few races, hittin up a few bike shops, and extensive internet research. However, I have a few months experience riding a Kawasaki Ninja sport bike ...and after this few months I've decided dirt is more my style because I know of no trees that will jump in front of you because they're doin their make up or talkin on a cell phone.

I've been lookin at bikes for about a month now and i'm kinda torn on what's the right bike for me. I'm not a huge kid at 5'7" and 150 lbs ....and for my many years of mountain bikin Ive liked the small frame cause I can man handle it, finesse it threw all sorts of crap in the woods, and jump like a kangaroo. My boy, who has been ridin and racin since he was 6, is tellin me to get the CRF250F ...and its a sweet bike but its 5 G's, I'm not gonna be racin, and it feels real big. I've been feeling the Kawasaki KX100, because its a motorcross bike that Ive read is also good on trails due to its size and more low end power than your typical two stroke. I will be doing a lot of both types because two of my friends have motocross tracks in their backyards, and there is trails everywhere. My question is will my beefy 150 lb keester be too much for this bike, and do you think I am gonna regret gettin the smaller bike?? What got me thinkin this is all the reviews on the bike that have been posted by 130 lb kids, or smaller.

thanks,
Jack

--Don't rush ....just courtesy flush :uh:

Tony Eeds

Godspeed Tony.
N. Texas SP
Jun 9, 2002
Welcome to the site, Jack :)

I am going to move this thread to a directory that will probably get you more views.