Bill Wright

Apr 15, 2003
I am new to the sport of motocross and race in the vet class up in Canada. I bought my 5 year old son a xr50 at the end of last year and this year it does not seem like it is enough bike for him. I have been showing him the little that I know and he is braking, looking ahead, taking small jumps/whoops, and I have been told by more experienced riders that he is showing good style and control. He says that he wants to race this year and I am considering letting him. Bottom line is I want him to have fun and be able to ride at his ability. I do not want to scare him off of bikes nor do I want him to be at such a disadvantage on the track that it is not fun either. I am considering a KTM but the 50 line-up of the bikes is more than confusing. Any assistance would be much appreciated.

Bill

Brianc

Nov 14, 2001
KTM has two series of 50cc dirt bikes. The adventure series is a 5 - 6 h.p. bike, not enough power to win. The pro series is their high output race engine 10 plus h.p. Then you break it down into sike size with the Jr and the Sr models The Jr is a lower seat height, about equal to the xr50, and the Sr has a 25.5 inch seat height . Those are the basic differences. There are other minor differences in the brakes and forks and rear shock, but the seat height and the engine power are the main points.

Have you considered the xr options? You can buy big bore kits and suspension parts. Some local tracks have separate classes for the xr50 and some just allow them to run with the 2 strokes even with all the mods. The main point being that the kids have fun. Check your local tracks and consider that, especially if he is fond of his xr and likes shifting.

Bill Wright

Apr 15, 2003