splatt

Resident mental case
~SPONSOR~
Dec 1, 2001
Since I started riding a few years ago that`s all I`ve encountered in this area. If I remember Capitol Forest down south of Olympia isn`t as rocky. All in all I thought it was a pretty good ride and look forward to riding with everyone again I can`t wait to see the pic`s either.

Steve

Highbeam

~SPONSOR~
Jun 13, 2001
The part of Capitol Forest that had the poker run 2 weekends back was not very rocky at all. However, I hope you like slimy clay. This riding area is huge and was closer than I thought. Trails seem wider, more for ATVs but still plenty challenging with that clay.

MACE

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 13, 1999
Originally posted by firecracker22
I hate switchbacks too and suck at them but the ones we rode Sunday aren't anything like the ones we'll ride at Mad River!! The uphill ones I do ok on but the downhill ones kick my ass every time

My second time at MR I was "on" and was taking the uphill switchbacks so fast I was dragging pegs like a road racer. Woo-hoo! I'm normally not that fast unfortunately. The MR switchbacks can be a witch (with a 'b') to ride down. The loop out of goose creek is easier clockwise than ccw I believe.

One more MR snapshot. Last time I was there, a new guy to the group caught a stump on the highside of a sidehill trail and broke his tib/fib. Son of a gun rode the bike out without putting his foot down the whole way. A fine display of riding skill you betcha!!! I played ambulace man and got to see the Xray. WhooHoo!

Best part was the guy following tib/fib man on the trail had a helmet cam and got the whole thing on tape. Tib/fib man is back riding and became a member of the club, but I don;t think he appreciates video night a whole lot....

Hondaxrguy

May 17, 2001
Ok, I got my pictures back from the ride. Sorry, they're kinda fuzzy.

First one is Steve.

Attachments

• tahuya steve1.jpg
    tahuya steve1.jpg
    35.7 KB · Views: 227

fishhead

die you sycophant !
LIFETIME SPONSOR