Jerry B

Sep 19, 2006
I am going to the GNCC Hare Scrambles race at Unadilla this weekend, what I need is a suggestion on how to shoot in the woods without blinding riders coming at me? I do alot of side shots and going away shots so I do not blind em but would like some on-coming shots. Most likely, living in NY, it will be cloudy and I have tried many different things but haven't hit on the right one yet. I am brand new at the photography thing so everything is trial and error rite now....thank God for digital! I would post a shot from the last race but I am still new and have a few post to get in first I believe. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Okiewan

Admin
Dec 31, 1969
Texas
What camera / lens will you be using?

Main thing would be to shoot in a spot with consistant light ...
I'd suggest going to Shutter Priority (Tv) and set it to the minimum acceptable speed. In tight woods, with them coming towards you or away from you, a lower speed will still stop action. See if you can get away with ISO 400 and no slower than 1/500, slower may even work, but don't let the shutter speed drop below the length (mm) you are shooting at.

Shoot RAW to allow exposure adjustments after the fact.

With experience? Go full manual, shoot a white card in the ambient light, set custom white balance and maunually expose to changing conditions. It's pretty easy for the in camera metering to be fooled.

Here's a shot of DRN'er Fatherandson from DirtWeek 05. It was pretty dark in there, but I found a spot where the subject was "all in" the shade. Shot at ISO 400, f/2.8, 1/1000, 70mm. I metered on the ground and locked before he got there (metered on the ground about where his boot is).

Attachments

• woods1.jpg
    woods1.jpg
    154.1 KB · Views: 372

Chili

Lifetime Sponsor - Photog Moderator
Apr 9, 2002
You're going to have troubles in the woods if that's your only lens, unless you stay real close and only shoot at the 18 end so that it's a 3.5 lens.

Squid31

Jul 5, 2006