Trick2Stroke

Mar 21, 2004
Hi everbody, I have a YZ 85 and I am looking to get some more power out of her.

Im wanting to just do the basic mods such as a pipe, filter, and reeds.I realy don't want to go into the engin yet.

So if any 1 can help with what pipe, filter, and reeds or any other performance mods plz lemme know.

I was thinking a sst/shorty combo, a twin air air filter, and some V-Force reeds..

Im fairly new to bikes so I don't know all the mods that are out there for them.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thx.
Blake.

Bizerk

Feb 28, 2004
That's the ticket my friend. Just as you mentioned for am parts without going into the motor. Just remember though once you start giving the motor more air and more exhaust flow, you might (probibly will) have to do some checking and/or rejetting of the carb so that you are not too lean!! (which is bad) :eek:

Firebalsocal

Jul 20, 2003
I don't know if mxbike.com is the cheapest but he is cheap. Free shipping on anything over $100 also. Email George, the owner, and have him give you a price on what you want. He is in Bend Oregon and is a very cool guy. I live near chaparral and have been using George instead of Chaparral because of his knowledge of what works and he is usually cheaper then any bike store around here. He can get most stuff so don't worry if you don't see it on his website.

bclapham

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 5, 2001
i would make sure the bike is running good, ie fresh top end, tires, chain lubed etc etc etc. then buy some jets and dial the carb in, there is more power to be had there than most bolt ons- often, aftermarket reeds, especially the vforce make matters worse jettin wise

Trick2Stroke

Mar 21, 2004
bclapham said:
i would make sure the bike is running good, ie fresh top end, tires, chain lubed etc etc etc. then buy some jets and dial the carb in, there is more power to be had there than most bolt ons- often, aftermarket reeds, especially the vforce make matters worse jettin wise