holeshot

Crazy Russian
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 25, 2000
I'm a piping materials engineer - petrochem.

Base salary 135 K (60.90 hr) + bonuses and 1.5 overtime. I know .... my salary is pretty puny (no raise for the past 2 years), but I put up with it because of the bennies (5 weeks vacation, decent health plan, employer matching 401 k, 30 mintutes drive).

So why am I going into so much detail when it's not called for? Because my job of 16 years is about to come to an end. I've been put on 60 days furlough and at the end of that, my job will most likely will be gone (terminated). It's my last chance to brag about what I do ..... because soon .. I won't be doin' nuttin'. :whoa:

I've been reflecting on how I've had the same job since I've started back into dirt biking in 1996. People say, "now you'll have lots of time to ride". Uh uh .... I don't feel like riding without a livelihood. And unemployment insurance is really, really puny.

What next?

-retire to a 3rd world country (probably could)
-start my own businines (but what?)
-find a job in the middle east
-find a job in canada (maybe it's not much better there)

I'm not in any financial difficulty (because I've driven beat-up econo boxes and didn't spend much on toys)

With my luck, I won't be fired :)

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
Holeshot - sorry to hear about the possible job loss. Nothing puny about your current arrangement, IMO. That gig will be hard to give up.

I am a commecial real estate appraiser in Bakersfield.

Was self employed for years. No bennies at all, lol. Still self employed, but entered into a new partnership January of this year.

Things are going very well so far with the new business.

ellandoh

dismount art student
~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Aug 29, 2004
holeshot said:

you design em we probably make some of them. recently been pouring return bends for offshore rigs and a newfangled design drill heads.

Last edited:

thumbs

Tony 'da Rat
Oct 16, 2000
MrLuckey said: