Reed questions...Suggestions to mods

DirtyJoe

Oct 1, 2006
Im VERY new to dirtbikes and how to "beef" them up alittle. So Im sorry if these questions seem alittle bit of no brainers for you guys...

First question is about the Reeds. Ive been told to swap mine out for a "good" set. I dont fully understand Reeds 100%. What I understand or get out of them is they are like Valves in a 4 stroke. Either way, what can I expect from getting a good set of them, and is there a way to tell if mine are wore out?

I guess instead of a question, Ill tell you what I have, and what you guys think would be a good purchase to get some more power out of the bike...

Its a 96 KX 125.

Im running full synthetic trans oil.

Its got an aftermarket Clutch basket already (forgot the brand)

FMF Gold Series Fatty with matching silencer

Good plugs, heat range 8, NGK-R's

Fresh rebuild. Wiesco piston, standard size. Sleeved.

I know the bike has been re-jetted but I have no idea how big they went. Doesnt seem to be running to rich or lean, so I think its setup pretty good right now.

The bike, to me, seems to lack alittle power. I expected more out of it. Dont get me wrong, its very quick, but your not going to pop the front tire off the ground without dumping the clutch around the power band. Is this what I should expect out of a 125 (with a 180 pound rider)

kingbrian

Jul 20, 2006
DirtyJoe said:
The bike, to me, seems to lack alittle power. I expected more out of it. Dont get me wrong, its very quick, but your not going to pop the front tire off the ground without dumping the clutch around the power band. Is this what I should expect out of a 125 (with a 180 pound rider)

yes..... definitely..... you need a 250

kta176

Jan 12, 2007
If you new to dirtbikes I wouldn't waste money throwing aftermarket parts at your bike. Switching to a bigger bike too earlier can actually make you go slower, get comfortable on your bike and practice.

KX250Dad

Dec 4, 2006