overbore

Dec 24, 2001
I am in the process of putting gold valves in a 2001
rm250 for my son that weight is 165 with street clothes.
I have a couple of questions not ever doing these before.
1.I have read on this forum trying to learn ahead of time
and still do not understand on whether I mess with the
midvalve at all on the forks setting it up for harescrambles?
2.Do I set it up for what race tech tells me as I have been
told that it usually is off a bit to get the best ride for plushness?
The stock springs for forks and shock look to be real close
for his weight so I will try them with just the other coversion I guess.I wish I understood all this lift and other language that I read but I dont.
Thanks overbore.

JTT

~SPONSOR~
Aug 25, 2000
I'm no expert on RT stuff, so I'll leave your specific questions to those who are more experienced with them.

When you have the fork apart, have a close look at the workings and try to trace the fluid paths. Then come on here, with the parts in front of you, and try to sort out the various terminology used around here. If you have any questions, ask away. I know for me, it makes alot more sense when I have the physical peice in front of me and can actually see and touch it.

"Lift" will become apparent when you have the midvalve in your hand. You'll notice on the compression side there is a shim stack, but it is supported on a small spring. You'll be able to carefully lift the entire stack slightly off the piston face but compressing the spring....that's "lift".

michigan

Mar 9, 2001
My 01 kx500 got the full Race-Tech revalve and respring for offroad, and we removed the midvalve per Race-Tech recommendations. If I remember correctly, Race-Tech only recommends leaving the midvalve in for aggressive track riding.
Also, (and others may disagree) I would advise to do exactly what RT recommends and then deviate from that setting only if necessary.
I was very pleased with my setup on the first try.

overbore

Dec 24, 2001