2strok4fun

Apr 6, 2002
I have some questions regarding spring rate selection.

My buddy just aquired a 1990 RMX 250 (with my help and another board member)

My question is this:

How can I determine spring rate for him? He is a big boy at 210 lbs. The bike feels good for me at 155 lbs.

I know the optimum would be to send the forks and shock for a complete setup from MX tech, but in the interest of getting him riding with the minimal investment, can only the shock spring be changed to get race sag set?
OR
would the forks have to get springs as well?

Current set up is
forks .37
shock 5.2

I am a rookie when it comes to suspension setup (my own incluced) so any help is appreciated.

Barbarian

Nov 22, 2001
If he has never ridden before u might want to leave it alone for awhile so the bike will have lower seat height. Then I would try .42kg/mm fork springs and maybe a 5.6 shock spring. If you are going to increase the shock spring rate that much I think you should increase the fork spring rate also.

Layton

~SPONSOR~
Aug 2, 2000
When I had my RMX I just put stock RM springs in it.

The RMX's are very soft unless you are around 150 lbs. The stock RM springs are naturally a little stiffer and worked out great for me.

Hope this helps.

placelast

Apr 11, 2001
Go to the Race-Tech.com website. You have to go thru their series of questions; just enter jibberish if you do not want to give out pers. info., but do be exact when it comes to weight, type of riding, and skill. Go beyond the Gold Valve promo, scroll around and you will find the stock and recommended rate (if you want to buy another brand) and their part number.

Just winging it the numbers mentioned above seem about right: .43s or so up front and a 5.6 out back should work for him but do verify with the website. I do not recommend he ride it with such light springs as it might headshake like a wet dog.