sixds

Mar 25, 2007
I'm having trouble shifting while standing up on my bike, especially shifting up. I normally ride on the balls of my feet and moving my foot forwards to click into a higher gear seems to put the bike off balance. Changing the shifter position on the shaft didn't seem to help.

Whats really bugging me is that i see people shifting while standing up doing wheelies and stuff, and they just seem to think its no harder than shifting while sitting.

Is it just technique or should my bike be set up differently?

IndyMX

Crash Test Dummy
~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2006
Amo, IN
technique...

I don't have a problem shifting sitting or standing.

You just need to get comfortable moving your feet around on the pegs when standing.

fatcat216

"Don't Worry Sister"
~SPONSOR~
Dec 16, 2007
I'm just a beginner so don't take this as knowledgable advice.

I've been practicing not only changing my foot positions while standing up, but literally jumping on my pegs. Just to be able to find my pegs when I lose contact. I want to have the confidence I can find those when I'm landing.

I think it is really important to practice things like weighting your pegs if balance is the issue. It's not a bad idea sitting or standing. Moving your foot standing will change your balance for sure! That it kind of the whole point of riding motorcycles and what makes them so scary fun. ;) You need to know what that feels like and more importantly how to use it to your advantage.

I'd recommend doing drills slo-mo. The idea is to get the feel of it going slow, then go fast. Drills are awesome confidence builders.

Flux3D

Aug 8, 2007