Soup up a Woods bike or tone down a MX bike?

Loopie

Jul 18, 2003
Hey Guys,

I'm about to buy a bike, I'm new to Moto riding but am coming from a DH MTB background...where I hit doubles up to 30', drop off cliffs up to 15' high and do mach1 thru the woods downhill. So I expect to progress fast with a motorcycle.
There's lots of trail riding here (Kamloops, BC) but I know I'll want to hit jumps too. I won't be racing however. I'm 200lbs, 5'10.
My Bro just bought a 92 RMX250 and I rode it for about an hr, pretty sweet ride.

Here are a couple bikes that are available right now.....93 KDX200, 96 CR250, 96 WR250....for $500-600 more there a couple 01 KX250's too.

I'm leaning towards a 250 MX bike and then modify it as needed for trails, while still being able to jump it....is that a decent plan of attack???
Or maybe the KDX and beef it up for jumping. Is it underpowered though when you wanna open 'er up?

Thx,
Derek

mxmatthew

Apr 7, 2003
i have a 96WR250. It's a lot different from the new wr's (as in it's not toned down). It's fairly close to a yz but with the big tank for woods and the wide ratio gearbox. I ride track and trail and I have no complaints.

Oct 28, 2004
definitly tone down a 250 moto. way less expensive, just add a flywheel weight and adjust some suspension components.

the older wr250's as mxmatthew stated are literally a yz250 with a bigger tank, and different gearbox, lower first gear for extreme torque and a tall 5th gear for high speeds. I would highly reccomend it

Loopie

Jul 18, 2003
Thx.
Ya, I've looked into the'96 WR's a bit and it is actually sounding like the perfect bike really.
Now to actually get hold of the guy selling it to see if it's still available! I haven't been able to make contact yet.

blanc

Dec 18, 2002