step by step instuctions for top end rebuild and kips

njg0621

Jan 30, 2004
Hey everyone , I own a 2001 kdx220 and I am putting a weisco piston and rings, and i figure I should clean the kips out from what I have read. I bought the service manual and it isnt very detailed or clear on how to do these things. My biggest problem is that I am new to trying to do this myself. Normally I have someone else do it, but i figure it's time to learn and stop spending money. I have done searches through the forum and found out a ton of useful knowledge but I havent found any thread or webpage that goes through the process step by step. Can anyone help me? to be honest with you I am scared that doing this for the first time I will do more harm than good. If I had a good set of directions that took me through the process I would feel much more comfortable. Thank you!

Mar 18, 2004
The same goes for a RM 250 - if anyone could post a "step by step instructions for idiots" type of instructions, that would be great. I too plan on redoing my topend but haven't done this before and the first time is scary. Knowledgeable instructions is a must, along with comments and suggestions, etc. Preferably with pics included.

sillygoose27

Oct 13, 2002
Yeah, I wanna do my top end (87KDX) but am a little worried about not being able to do it right. I also don't exactly know everything I need to do it right.

j_freak

Feb 7, 2004
Eric Gorr goes through the process on his website under tech or something like that.

When searching for a manual, search for the make and model, NOT the year. Many times the titles will be something like Suzuki RM 125-500 1982-1988, so a search for "Suzuki RM250" would yield no results. Try Amazon.com

myrm

Sep 3, 2003
best bet would be a manual but short of that (and i dont know much about this site)
try (motocross. com) some pretty good info on there including doing your top-end

souphmars

Mar 8, 2004