stuffed clutch 1997 rm125 need help!!

1LoneRider

Jul 15, 2007
stuffed clutch and gear changing 97 rm125 need help!!

Hey there everyone, every time my bike is in gear (1st etc...) i hold the clutch in so that it will idle, but the bike still stalls.And when im changing up a gear, i feel the gears dont change very well, e.g wen im at 3rd i tri shift up but theres no change, so i have to try again until i get it up. Wat do i do?? I can feel that there is something wrong wen i change up a gear, but i have no clue at all.
I'm new to 2-strokes and im not sure, how to get to things like the piston rings, reed valves etc as yet

could someone please help, any suggestions i'll take em :yell:

cheers

Last edited:

motodr9

Sep 1, 2003
It could be your clutch or a shift fork. Lets eliminate one possibility- the clutch.
Put the bike in gear. Lean the bike way over onto a stand or something (enough so the oil will not run out) and open up the clutch cover. Then remove the spring retaining bolts (around the center) and start removing the plates (remember how they are arranged: fiber, steel, fiber, steel...). Inspect all of the plates. Are the fibers worn down? Are any broken? Is the clutch basket grooved? Look at everything. Let us know what you find.

1LoneRider

Jul 15, 2007
showtime586 said:
Is there anybody that you ride with that might be able to help you with working on your bike?

yea there are a few, but its holidays in new zealand, and most of them hav gone away...

Sep 15, 2004