The engine i am Designing for PTC student competion

loudandproud

Jul 29, 2006
hey guys, my preengineer teacher entered our class in the competion for who could come up with the best innovative product... this is my entry so far..

nothing in the rendering is new or exciting... that comes later when i design the head... me thinks you'll like.:applause:

I got to get the rest of the motor down by friday:censored: :excuseme:

O, and i have been using this program for like 2 months and am only 16 so dont be to harsh if you are like an actual engineer or something. I came up with these plans on my own and build it on the program my own.

let me know what you think

it is obviously not done... but i will post more as the process goes on

76GMC1500

Uhhh...
Oct 19, 2006
ProE kicks SolidWorks ass! This is espeically true when you get ProMechanica involved.

We always made a game out of trying to complete an entire part in one extrude/revolve/whatever, some parts were quite complex.

SpeedyManiac

Aug 8, 2000
Interesting. Pro/E isn't much better than Solidworks, and is worse in some cases. I haven't played with Cosmos (Solidworks' FEA program) or Algor (another solidworks FEA program) but I've heard good things. Personally, I find Pro/E is cumbersome for a lot of simple things, and only shines on extremely complex parts.

As for your project, it looks pretty cool. One thing to watch out for is sharp corners and sudden changes in the cross-section of parts (like your crank) as these cause stress concentrations which can result in failure of the part.

Also, why are you using two bolts on each side (4 total) for clamping the connecting rod?

76GMC1500

Uhhh...
Oct 19, 2006
SpeedyManiac said:
As for your project, it looks pretty cool. One thing to watch out for is sharp corners and sudden changes in the cross-section of parts (like your crank) as these cause stress concentrations which can result in failure of the part.