eprovenzano

Nov 7, 2005
My son has outgrown his 99 YZ125, he's taken over my 99 KX250. I am going to sell the 125, and thinking about a used KTM300. I'll be looking at the 98-01 years. We trail ride with the occasional trip to a track. Is there anything I need to look for as far as maintenance goes. I've always ridden either yami or Kawi, so I'm new to the KTM world. Is one year better than another, or is there a year/model I should stay away from.

Any insight would be appreciated.

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
The '99 is the last year with the 50mm conventional forks. These can be made to work very well for trail/enduro and are preferred by some riders.

The 250 is also a fine bike. Much less low end grunt than the 300, but IMO it is less tiring to ride.

CR Swade

~SPONSOR~
Jan 18, 2001
The earlier 300's were brutes and had some jetting issues. The 300's were fast and much harder hitting than now. IMO the 250 during those years was easier to live with jetting and easier to ride for long periods.

I used to be huge fan of the 50mm Zokes action in the woods, but they are very heavy, flexy for any sort of rough MX and leak pretty regularly at the seals. The 48mm usd forks can be made to be jsut as plush w/a good tuner w/ less weight and flex

Ideally, if you can find some of the killer deals that have 03-04's going for 2800-3200 there are some very nice suspension changes made to the bikes in 03. SX models in 03 also recv'd the new 9lb lighter engine design as well as the new bodywork. The 03 250SX is still regarded as one of the fastest 250 engines produced by anybody. In 04 the chassis and suspension changes were all added to the MXC and EXC lineup as well.