wanaride

~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2003
I tried to disassemble the tie rods and suspension linkage last night for a greasing, but I couldn't get the nut off of the front tie rod bolt!

I tried a socket wrench, and when that didn't work, I went to a 12" crescent wrench, and all it was doing was rounding off the nut. And this bike is less than a month old!

Besides penetrating oil, is there something special required for this? (Please be gentle, I'm an electrical engineer, not a mechanic, but I'm trying...)

The service manual says to jack up the bike to do this. My mongo milk crate gets the rear wheel off the ground but I can't get to the tie rod while on it...does the rear wheel have to be off the ground to do this?

Robcolo

Jan 28, 2002
Those nuts are torqued to 60 lb-ft. -- really tight! Use a 6pt [12 pt sockets ruin fasteners] socket on the nut and a box end wrench on the bolt head. Turn the nut, not the bolt head. Crescent wrenches are for Harleys only.

canyncarvr

~SPONSOR~
Oct 14, 1999
You ARE holding the other end, right? ;)

You unload the suspension (put it on mongo) because you can imagine that taking apart what's holding the bike up in the first place might be better off done whilst it isnot performing its designed function?

Taking the nut off wouldn't be a problem, but you sure don't want to try to remove the bolt unless the rear suspension is completely unloaded. That means nothing pushing OR pulling on it. So, while it's mounted on mongo, slip some 2x4s or such under the rear wheel to put the suspension components in 'neutral'...no pressure up OR down.

On your crate, there isn't any reason the pull rods won't come off fairly easily. It's not like you're trying to take the clutch off and the rear wheel is spinning.

You are using metric tools...not 'close enough' SAE?

Removal of this fastener should NOT be a problem.

Taking the pivot bolt out of the swingarm when IT hasn't been serviced for a few years...now THAT'S likely a problem!

wanaride

~SPONSOR~