Top-end/Piston question.... HELP!

drxr

Sep 30, 2003
I just bought an 01 220 that has never been broken down or had rings/piston. The previous owner said it has never had a wrench on it other than oil changes. It appears to have been ridden quite a bit, but cleaned up nicely.

I need some advice from you folks regarding preventative maintenance. In your opinions, should I have a wiseco piston and new rings installed? Where is the best place to buy the wiseco? Is the one on **** a good deal and is that all i need? I'm new to two strokes and will prob. need to have the work done instead of doing it myself... Do i need anything else? Gasket?

It seems to run out really strong, I just don't want problems down the road. Thanks, Craig

ps. i have an 04 KTM 450 EXC also and i bought this as a sort of "throw bike", but i think i am going to have a blast on it. it seems really throwable and versitile. thanks for the site, i read it often! :joke:

buffmaster

Mi. Trail Riders
Apr 11, 2001
If you're not willing to try it yourself the first time (not a bad idea), then you just need to find a shop in the area that you trust. And see if the mechanic will let you watch while he's doing it, if you can pull that off. That'll help in the long run. As for the Wiseco, you can get them just about anywhere, but you may want to check w/the mechanic first. I haven't run into it, but I have heard of shop's not wanting to put in stuff that you didn't get from them. Most should be cool w/it though.

And what do you mean about the EXC being a "throw bike"?? If you're planning on it being a 'throw away bike', throw it my way. I can catch real good......

BJH

Nov 9, 2003
You will need the following parts.
Piston and rings of course. Wiseco or ProX. (Roughly $100 to $120)
Top end gasket set (Roughly $40 to $45)