top end rebuild turns into an enormous bill

russdaddy

Jul 23, 2007
So i decided to bring my bike in a couple days ago to have the top end freshend up and after a coulpe of days i get a call from the shop saying that i need a bottom end also :bang: ,so i figured F it ill just have it done so my bikes good to go for the summer time,but what i was wondering is will i notice quite a bit more power with a new top/bottom end,chain/sprockets,and boyeson power reeds?Its a 1990 rm3250 if you're wondering.

russdaddy

Jul 23, 2007
Well with the top end,bottom end,parts,and labour its gonna be around $1800,but thats with reeds and the chain and sprockets installed also which i couldve done by myself but it was just easier since they were working on it anyway.

kawraper

Mar 4, 2009
Wow! glad im a mechanic! My rebuild on my 93kx comes to $210 Granted its just a rod, bering and topend.

russdaddy

Jul 23, 2007
ya if i was doing just the top end it woulda been about the same,but once they got in there they noticed the bottom end was shot,basically im paying for a lot of labor.

f4stunter

Dec 18, 2008
I did a complete top and bottom end with vforce reeds, repacked the exhaust, had it bored new swingarm bearings, grips, levers, frt brake hose, and probably some more stuff i cant remember for 900 bucks. I couldnt be involved in powersports at all if I couldnt do my own labor.

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana
What's shop time on a 2 stroke rebuild? 4~6 hours, with lunch. I never really timed it, 2~3 hours sounds more like it. 350 to 400 dollars in parts to rebuild the engine. BUT, it should run very good!

russdaddy

Jul 23, 2007